Race Recap: Tour de Pain 5k 2017

20770142_10102394211562882_5689296410884115371_nWe came. We saw. We conquered… brunch!

The Tour de Pain was my first official race back post plantar fasciitis, and I’d say it went pretty well. I’m still getting back into the swing of things and working on strength, which was evident race day. I have a degenerative disc in my lower back which if I’m strong and consistent with CrossFit, typically doesn’t bug me often. Since I’m just getting back into things, my back isn’t as strong to compensate, so some runs I have a lot of back pain. TSC TDP was no exception. My back bothered me the entire darn thing. It was hot. I felt slow. I walked a lot BUT… I did it. I’m happy to say I got back out there and did my thing.

20729342_10155601574379518_898706782271073099_n.jpg

It was fun to also run with these ladies. Congrats to Lauren who finished her first 5k EVER! So proud of this lady.

img_1622.jpg

And I also got to witness the moment Sammy learned his parents are “running people.” To say he was less than thrilled was an understatement. Congrats on Sammy for his first 5k nap too!

The best part of the day was that my PF didn’t really bother me! Not during and not after. Yay!

 

I would love to hear your thoughts! Leave a comment!

