In My Sights: Tour de Pain

Stop. Stop with that look you’re giving me right now. I know what you’re thinking. I’m going to hurt myself again trying to run so soon. That I’m overdoing it.

Trust me, I’m not. I’m not doing all 3 races. I’m just doing Saturday morning with friends at my own pace. So… calm. Down.

To quote a friend of mine “yeah I don’t care if they’ve already deconstructed the finish line.” Yup. Basically sums it up. I just want to get out there.

tdp_medal-373x300

I WON’T EVEN GET A MEDAL.
(You only get a medal if you complete all 3 races. I still think that would be too much for me just yet as I ease back into things.)

That should be proof enough that I’m just doing this for fun.

IMG_1868

I’ve enjoyed running the Tour de Pain in the past (2011 & 2012),  and highly recommend it. It’s setup as a challenge to see how well you do running 3 very different races in 24 hours. Friday night is a 4 mile beach run. Saturday morning is the typical 5k road race. Saturday afternoon/early evening is what I’ve always called a “1 mile Sizzler.” Cheesy I know.

I am nervous. At the time of writing this, I’ve managed to complete a 5k, but only on a treadmill. I also only ran one mile of it and walked the rest. It also took 55 minutes.  😳 Talk about humbling.

I remember the first time I ever ran a mile on a treadmill. This was back in 2002. I was so excited I finished. It took 16 minutes. Recently I ran a mile on the treadmill at the Y, and it took me 15 minutes 33 seconds. So at least I’m better than I once was!

I wasn’t kidding about how they might break down the course before I finish.

But that’s okay. I understand this is a process. Not only am I having to get back into shape, I am also attempting to lose weight and get stronger. It’s going to take some time. My overall goal is to be faster, stronger and smarter than I was before this whole mess.

The other reason I’m running is for the post race meal. This used to be my favorite part of the weekend! Things have changed over the years. I used to use this as an excuse to drink at 10 am. Mimosas anyone? I still enjoy those on occasion, but not the quantity that I used to.

L1210140

This time, I have my sights set on a smoothie. It’s going to be hot, and a “Blimey Limey with no turbinado, no sweetener” from Tropical Smoothie Cafe sounds perfect! Right by my house in San Marco, this will be a convenient stop on the way home where I plan to binge watch Netflix the rest of the day.

What’s your favorite post run meal? Comment and share!

** 1st Place Sports and Tropical Smoothie Cafe have provided me a complimentary race entry in return for my blog post. Thoughts and opinions here are 100% my own. **

I would love to hear your thoughts! Leave a comment!

