Gate River Run 2016

My 9th Gate River Run was a blast! I’d been fighting an injury to my knee since October prior. I had ‘runners knee’ where the knee cap clicks when you run due to an imbalance in the quad and hamstring. I had to keep the streak alive and run though!

NNMM6999

Several of us met up at the Jaguar statue prior to the race because traditions… We hoist the GRR newbie up for a picture. First it was Elena, then Ed, now Sean!

GCAG1443

Me and my girl, Elena!

BMLB5779

I’d convinced my crazy running friend, Joe, to drive up for the race! He loves running so I knew he had to check the nations largest 15k off his list!

EWOS8541

Gotta love seeing the firemen running in full gear. Amazing!

EGYR7133

The Main Street Bridge was waiting for me!

CQSL7928

I love seeing friends cheering people on along the race including running friends Jason and Ashley! Jason was one of my first running friends and really helped motivate me when I first started running!

I also ran 3/4 of the race while on the phone with my friend, Doug, who lives in Michigan. You can see the ear bud. This definitely helped pass the time too!

XIDA1636

My fuel choice for the day. Gotta love gummie bears.

RQXU8166

Yeaaa… the finish line was still 5 miles away at this point…

FHEK5080

I love the River Road portion of the race. The water looks different every race.

KUNI9306

The Gate has the best crowd support of any race I’ve ever seen. There are people that setup and tailgate the entire race. They hand out free food and booze to people as they run by. I’ve always turned this down (except for the year Smoothie King handed out free smoothies) because I don’t want to get runners trots and ruin my finish time. With my knee issue this year, I wasn’t gunning for any particular time so I decided to try everything that was offered. I started the day with a delicous mimosa.

VKWH0538

This is around mile 6 every year. They always setup a big bbg party outside and hand out beer, sausages and more. They also hose the runners down as they run past. I took the opportunity to cool down.

HSBF5033

They handed me a freezie pop which was delicous.

WRYV0138

How cool to have run the race for 38 years in a row!

CYZP1082

This was interesting. There was a short line for whatever alcoholic beverage this was. I tried it. It was some sort of peach which I hate peach. Got a good shots worth though. So gross. At least it was cold.

QNDG8707

Gotta say “Hi!’ to the Mile 7 Banana! Jello shots were accomplished.

UTVA6549

Gotta love this view.

XMTU1972

OTIC0703

KNCQ0485

Finally finished! What a sight to see this beast at the finish with beer in hand!

UYZL0693

9th year in a row was done!

QEJB3208

AGQR6261

Have you run the Gate River Run? What’s your favorite part?

I would love to hear your thoughts! Leave a comment!

