Black Hog Farm-To-Door

I’ve been curious about the Black Hog Farm-to-Door program for quite a while. Recently a few friends of mine started the program (Megan, Lana, I’m lookin’ at you!), so I pulled up their website to learn a bit about it.

Black Hog is a local, North Florida based farm which offers all sorts of fruits, vegetables, eggs and proteins for sale.

Deliveries can include:

  • Fresh Produce
  • Free Range Chicken
  • Fresh farm Eggs
  • Naturally Raised Heritage Pork (including Berkshire, Tamworth and Large Black)
  • Naturally raised pastured Beef
  • Other quality local, regional and fresh Black Hog Farm approved products

Plus, they offer a subscription based program. You can subscribe to receive items on a weekly every-other-week or even specific week basis. They also offer a Farmer Box which is a random collection of fruits and veggies. You can pay a few bucks more and actually select up to 10 items to have in your box.

While it’s called Farm-to-Door, they don’t actually deliver to your door. It was a bit unclear. It sounds like it was a program that they’re no longer accepting new clients for and they’re phasing it out. Now the program has evolved so you pickup your order on a designated day at the local YMCA. On Sunday I signed up for the every-other-week Farmers Box, and today was my pickup day. After work I headed to Brooks YMCA and picked up my selection of goods. (Actually I drove halfway home then I remembered, drove back and picked up my box.)

Update 6/14/2013

My friend emailed Black Hog for information on her own and they told her the following. 

We are still doing Farm to Door home delivery to most areas of Jacksonville. The pick up at your local Y does allows you to have more choices in customizing your order by using our new web site. Home delivery Members from the intercostal east are also able to order off the site. All other home delivery orders are made by email.

img_2158

When I got home, I explored my goods. I had selected to order a dozen eggs, 1 pound breakfast sausage and 1 pound ground beef. Plus I ordered a Farmers Choice box. I was feeling risky on Sunday when I submitted my order, so I let Black Hog decide what to send me. I didn’t give them any specifications on what to leave out, but you do have the option. Here’s what came in my box:

  • 1 small butternut squash
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 4 peaches
  • 4 oranges
  • 1 bag romaine
  • 3 large carrots
  • 1 bag spinach
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 bag mushrooms

Ha! I’m actually allergic to mushrooms. Oops. Regardless, I’d say for $25, I got a pretty good box. The ground beef, sausage and eggs were extra.

Have you ever ordered a protein/produce delivery like this?

5 thoughts on “Black Hog Farm-To-Door

  1. I subscribe to TheVeggieBin.com and love it. It is $25 a bin and I just get whatever is fresh that week. It has helped me be more creative in the kitchen and I have discovered vegetables that I never thought I liked are great when cooked at home: like rutabega, turnips, brussel sprouts and beets. The best part is it is all delivered to you. I get two bins a month and it is plenty. They don’t deliver meat like Black Hog though.

    1. I’ve actually done the Veggie Bin before too. I liked it as well. I had to pick mine up from Sippers Coffee (maybe I chose a cheaper option? details are fuzzy…) I thought about signing up for Veggie Bin, but the meat and eggs at Black Hog definitely swayed me. We tried the sausage this past weekend, and will definitely be ordering that on a regular basis from now on!

  2. don’t know if anyone is checking this thread anymore but do me a favor and ask those folks at black hog specifically where they get the bulk of their produce. they get some kale and other minor veggies from the markets around county line, but the rest comes from big food distributors like us foods. they grow absolutely nothing. the are frauds and only in it for the business. they don’t know their elbow from their knee when it comes to farming but they’ll say farm farmer or farming 4x/sentence. they use terms like ‘sister farms’ and ‘local sourcing’ – both of which are only about 5% true. please try to get this out it isn’t right.

I would love to hear your thoughts! Leave a comment!

