WOD 5/4 – Saturday Team WOD

This past week was a bit crazy with starting a new job (yay!) and my birthday, so I didn’t make it to CrossFit two times during the week like I typically do. (I’m on the 2x/week plan). So I decided to check out the Saturday workout. The Saturday workout is a bit of a mystery because it’s never posted on the blog like the other’s are. I had no idea what to expect, just that it’s a ‘team’ or ‘partner’ workout.

photo 2

When I arrived, I started stretching until we were ready. Amanda, our coach for the day, gathered everyone up and we got started with a 400 meter run followed by the 2 rounds of squats, box jumps and kettlebells. I absolutely hate box jumps. I know I can do box jumps just fine, but I have fears of skinning my shins. I know doing that would put me out of commission for a few days, so to me, it’s just not worth it. Instead of box jumps, I did step ups.

photo 4 (2)

Then we rolled out our muscles with the foam rollers and lacrosse balls. Once everyone was ready, Amanda setup all the medicine balls in a big circle and had us crawl around in a bear crawl essentially playing musical med ball. We would crawl in a circle from one to another. If the music stopped, we had to quickly sit down on one of the med balls. Whoever didn’t have one, had to do 20 squats and sit out the remaining rounds. Since there was one less person participating, we got rid of a med ball and continued on. I am proud to say my big booty and I are the champion of Musical Med Balls (at least for this day).  lol

photo 1

After that excitement, we were finally ready for the day’s partner WOD. a 400 meter run with your partner, then you broke up evenly between the two of you 20 power cleans (meaning each person did 10), 40 box jumps (20 step ups for me), and 60 sit ups (30 each).

photo 1 (2)

It was a fun workout especially since mother nature wasn’t playing along. We still did our runs outside and even possibly enjoyed the run in the rain a bit. It didn’t stop anyone.

photo 3

photo 4

This is the pad for situps we put behind our back to keep the curvature of the spine while completing the quick reps.

photo 5

The box. ugh.

photo 2 (2)

The workout was an AMRAP (as many rounds as possible in 20 min). We did two rounds and then another run before we were out of time. The workout was a good one. I almost wished it was longer so we could have kept going. (Not sure my partner would feel the same). Parnter WODS do sorta stink though because I’m so darn slow at running and box step ups. I always feel we could have done more, gotten farther if I was just a bit faster. Oh well. It will come with time.

photo 3 (2)

I’d say that’s a decent calorie burn for a days workout!

One thought on “WOD 5/4 – Saturday Team WOD

I would love to hear your thoughts! Leave a comment!

