2012 Native Sun 10k

A few weeks ago, I ran my third Native Sun 10k.

  • 2011 1 hour 16 minutes, 2 seconds
  • 2009 1 hour 5 minutes, 20 seconds

I knew I most likely had no chance to beat my 2009 race time. I remember running it and being really disappointed I didn’t do it in under an hour. Some day. I will beat that goal!

In 2010, work was too crazy, so I skipped the race.

Last year, I ran the race completely hung-over and didn’t realize at the time I had symptoms of Achilles Tendonitis.

This year, I had my sights set on beating my time from last year at least!

I was also using this race to help me complete the 10 mile long run I had scheduled for that day. This is the first time I’d ever run more on a race day than the race itself + warm-up, so I have to say I felt like an actual runner for once! I knew I would get in 6 miles in the race, so that meant I would still have 4 miles left. I planned to run 2 miles warm-up before the race and an additional 2 miles after the race. I ended up actually doing running 2.5 miles during warm-up, which meant I really only had 1.5 miles after the race.

IMG_7918-2240714810-O

Before the race started, Adam and I met up with Roxie who decided to sign up for the race last minute.

IMG_7919-2240714323-O

Yes, I have no clue what was going on w/ the headband/headphones deal before the race. The headphones are the kind that rest behind the back of your head. If I’m not actually listening to music, I typically put them around my neck, but after a while, it starts to bug me. The only other option is to cram them on my head like traditional headphones… which makes me look ridiculous.

IMG_7921-2240714537-O

During this race, you get to run through the Mandarin area which is a nice shaded area with really nice houses including one crazy modern house. I look forward to running past it because it’s just so interesting.

IMG_7922-2240714559-O

IMG_7939-2240718225-O

“Oh hai! Just running by here.”

I surprisingly enjoyed running this race. I ended up running into my friend, Lexi, a mile or so into the race. I haven’t seen her in like 3 years, so that was really awesome. We ran and chatted for a few miles until we decided to split ways at a waterstop.

The entire time I was running this race, I had in the back of my mind that it would be great to beat my time from last year. Unfortunately, as I got closer to the end, I realized I was just a little too far away to beat my time of 1 hour and 14 minutes. I was really disappointed the last half mile or so when I realized I just hadn’t quite run fast enough.

IMG_7940-2240718209-O

Meanwhile, Roxie and Adam had a good time running part of the race together.

IMG_7926

Then this happened!!!

Yeah right. I didn’t get an award. I wish!

Actually, when I finished the race in 1:16:04, I finally whipped out my phone to check my time from the year before. It was then… I realized…I was wrong.

My time from the year before wasn’t 1:14. IT WAS 1:16:02.

WHAAAT?

I’d missed beating my previous time by TWO SECONDS!

IMG_7925-2240714695-O

And then I still had to run a mile and a half. Needless to say, without the adrenalin of the race, I only made it about half a mile more before I decided my legs just we NOT going on anymore. I ended up running a total of 9.23 miles that day. Round up, that’s 10 miles, right?

IMG_7928

At least I got one thing right that day. Post-race breakfast at First Watch!

One thought on “2012 Native Sun 10k

I would love to hear your thoughts! Leave a comment!

