An Arctic Zero Plea for Publix

I love getting mail, and a few weeks ago I got a really awesome package in the mail! The team at Arctic Zero heard I was a huge fan and sent me some goodies to try!

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Oh boy was I excited to check this out!! I’ve been buying Arctic Zero at my local Publix which offers Chocolate Peanut Butter, Vanilla Maple, and Chocolate. Sometimes they only have two flavors. Sad smile Believe me when I say I was surprised when I looked them up online to find out they actually have EIGHT flavors PLUS ice cream bars!! What gives Publix??

So I did what any good blogger would do, I reached out to Arctic Zero to learn more. In general, it’s a fairly obvious answer. Arctic Zero is a new product so Publix is testing the waters.  If Publix gets good feedback from their customers, they’ll be open to carrying more variety. Well Publix, this is my plea for you to carry more of these fabulous flavors!!

Now THAT’S a lot of ice cream..

Publix only carries the following 3 flavors:

  • Chocolate
  • Vanilla Maple
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter

But there’s ALSO…

  • Strawberry
  • Pumpkin
  • Coffee
  • Mint Chocolate Cookie
  • Cookies and Cream

(not to mention they also have bars too!)

OK so what makes Arctic Zero so awesome?

  • It’s only 150 calories per pint. Yes, you can plant your booty on the couch and you don’t HAVE to share! You can eat the whole pint solo.
  • It’s not really ice cream. It’s marketed as “A protein shake in ice cream form” which they’ve even trademarked. There’s over 13g protein per pint.
  • There’s no wonky ingredients inside. (see below)
  • Now, it’s only 150 calories for a reason. This isn’t that sweet. If you’re looking for something that’s going to knock your socks off… this probably isn’t your cup of tea pint of ice cream.
  • All of these have a really mellow flavor. Nothing’s entirely overpowering (even the Coffee and Pumpkin).

This picture makes me laugh. Look at Dexter in the background eyeing my goodies.

Ingredients in the Chocolate Bar:

Purified water, whey protein concentrate, organic cane sugar, dutch processed cocoa powder with alkali, chicory root, guar gum, xanthan gum, natural flavors, sea salt, monk bruit concentrate.

Chocolate Coating:

Organic Palm Kernel Oil, Chocolate Liquor processed with Alkali, Sugar, Coconut Oil, Soy Bean Oil, Soy Lecithin (an emulsifier), Pure Vanilla Extract.

See?  Nothing too crazy in there!

One thing that surprised me was that they carry bars too! I have NOT seen the bars at Publix yet. Each bar is their Arctic Zero deliciousness dipped in chocolate. That’s why while these are smaller than a pint, they each have 85 calories.

Box one contains Strawberry and Orange Cream while Box two has Chocolate and Vanilla. I personally preferred the chocolate and vanilla box better, but did enjoy the strawberry/orange cream box.  If you’re the type of person that likes chocolate covered raspberries or those little chocolates that come in your valentines box that have the surprise cherry and syrup inside, you just might like the chocolate covered strawberry and orange cream.

(I only have pictures of the boxes for the bars because they got a bit “melty” in the mail. They still tasted fantastic, but I don’t want to dissuade you by something that looks a little imperfect.)

One of the reasons I like Arctic Zero is it gives me a way to combat that dreaded ice cream aisle. When I go to Publix, I try to pretend that aisle doesn’t exist. I whiz my cart right past it. Some weeks unfortunately, I just find myself wandering in there.  It may be a BOGO ice cream offer, or I may really go into that aisle to check out something on the opposite side…but as soon as I turn around, I’m faced with rows of delicious chilled options. Thanks to Arctic Zero, I can just grab a pint and go.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

OK so I tried multiple flavors…but of alllll the flavors which one ended up being my favorite?

Vanilla Maple. I really didn’t think I’d like this flavor. I’m not usually a big fan of maple things.  In fact when I first tried it, I really didn’t care for it. Eventually it grew on me.

Runner up?  Chocolate Peanut Butter, Strawberry, and if I had some oreos, I’d go for the cookies and cream. (although, the oreos might defeat the purpose of the low calories dessert…)

 

Have you tried Arctic Zero? What’s your favorite flavor? If you pick up a pint, let me know what you thought!

**Arctic Zero provided me with free product to review. Thoughts and opinions here are 100% my own and not influenced by others.**

2 thoughts on “An Arctic Zero Plea for Publix

    1. Thanks for your comment! Yes, the stuff isn’t bad! Not overly sweet, but I’m always trying to get more protein in my diet, so this is sorta a “win win” for me! Let me know what you think when you try it!

I would love to hear your thoughts! Leave a comment!

