Muffin-envy – Meatloaf Muffins

I currently have a little obsession going on in the back of my brain.. it’s called “muffins”. No, not the fluffy carb-tastic kind…although if they were, they’d have to be blueberry because for some reason that’s all I picture when I think of muffins.

(source)

Recently, I’m obsessed with trying to make everything “muffin size”. Normal sized things I would typically make in a whole pan, I’m wanting to tweak the recipe to fit in a muffin tin. Little portion sized nuggets of goodness. Well as much as I’m obsessing about it, not much has actually HAPPENED in my kitchen. The past few weeks have been a blur of traveling for work, MOVING (yikes), unpacking, cleaning the old place, conferences, and beers (too many..).

FINALLY I got settled enough last week to where I could see the majority of my counters and most things were unpacked. (Open drawers or closets at your own risk!) I then remembered I had a little over a pound of ground beef taunting me from the fridge. Yup, I bought that chunk of meat without a plan of exactly how I was going to use it. Horrible shopping habit, I know. It was on sale, so I snatched it up. There it sat heckling me from the back of the fridge…

…until I read Ashley’s blog, Fashionably Fit, and saw Meatloaf Muffins!

It looks like she got the recipe from Cooking Light, but honestly, I didn’t know this at the time. I just assumed she whipped this little ditty herself. Either way, it’s fabulous. It probably would have been even more amazing if I realized I didn’t have all the ingredients before I started. DOH!

Here’s the recipe off her blog:

***

Meatloaf muffins
From Cooking Light
[pinit]

Ingredients
1.25 to 1.5 pounds of lean ground beef
2 eggs
1 onion, diced
1 cup diced carrot
1 teaspoon oregano
Minced garlic to taste
1 cup Italian seasoned breadcrumbs
1 cup ketchup
2 tablespoons yellow mustard
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

Preheat the oven to 350 and coat a 12-muffin tin with nonstick spray.

Mix the carrots, onions and oregano together and sauté in olive oil; set aside to cool.

Mix the beef, eggs, breadcrumbs and remaining ingredients together, adding in the onion mixture when cool.

Scoop the meatloaf mixture into the muffin pan. My muffin cups were filled above the brim.

Bake at 350 until a meat thermometer reads 160 — this took about 35 minutes for me.

***

To get things started, I brought out the meat and then combined it with two eggs. (even though the directions clearly don’t list this first, I totally thought it was!)

Next listed was combine carrot, oregano, and onion…hmmm so I didn’t seem to have any of these.  I looked thru the pantry for 5 minutes but it’s a disaster from the move.  I SWEAR I have some in there, but couldn’t find it.  I did find a tin of Italian Seasoning that Adam had stuck in the pantry. Problem is, it contains Mushrooms (Organic Porcini Mushroom), and I’m allergic to Mushrooms. (not deathly, they make me stuffed up…) I sucked it up and tossed some in.  I needed to get some flavor from somewhere!

20120201-215309.jpg

This is the point where I read far enough to see it called for breadcrumbs…which I didn’t have.  Oy. I dug through the pantry for substitutions….and came up with whole wheat Panko Breadcrumbs. Hmm. I mean, essentially it has the word breadcrumb ON the package…but man, if these just end up hard & crunchy in the middle of blobs of ground beef, not good..

I didn’t really have any options at this point, so I threw it in.

I split everything up into muffins.. this made 10 for me..

Muffin sized!  Cook, baby! Cook!

And I paired it with roasted asparagus.  For the asparagus, I just snapped the ends off, rinsed them. Tossed them with some olive oil and roasted about 20 minutes or so. So delicious.

And whalah! My meaty muffins were done!

Mmmm.  I honestly have to say this was delish!  I’m sure we’ll be making this again.  I totally lucked out w/ the Panko too!  They weren’t crunchy at all. I didn’t even notice them once it was cooked. Phew!

Not bad, not bad!

What’s your favorite recipe you like to alter and make mini-sized?

2 thoughts on “Muffin-envy – Meatloaf Muffins

I would love to hear your thoughts! Leave a comment!

