Product Review: Clif Bar Peppermint Stick

I was just talking with my coworkers the other day about how rarely I now check the mail.  Its pretty bad because there’s actually been a few times I’ve gone over a week without checking the mail.  I have to admit though…since I started signing up for free stuff, checking the mail is soo much more exciting!  Last week crammed in that tiny mailbox with all the bills and catalogs, I saw THIS cute box..

Oh boy!!  This means my Clif Bar Peppermint Stick free sample has arrived!!  I wonder how long it was waiting for me in my mailbox??

Enclosed was an informational card.  The main thing that caught my eye was that it said “1% of net sales from our sensational bars benefits the Winter Wildlands Alliance. So grab them while you can and help protect the places we play.” I’ve never heard about the Winter Wildlands Alliiance, so I asked google.

Winter Wildlands Alliance is a national nonprofit organization promoting and preserving winter wildlands and a quality human-powered snowsports experience on public lands.

Basically, it seems that their goal is to preserve the winter wetlands and reduce or restrict the use of human-powered motorized vehicles.  Interesting.. never realized an organization like this existed, but can see how it might be necessary at times.

Of course, I had to read the writing on the back of the label. Always fairly interesting.

Cliff Bar is named after my father, Clifford, my childhood hero and companion throughout the Sierra Nevada Mountains. When I was a young boy, my father inspired a love of adventure and the outdoors in me.  He also taught me that with a passion for outdoors comes a responsibility – to help protect it.

This season, to honor my father and his spirit of adventure and belief in giving back, we will contribute 1% of CLIP Seasonal bar net sales to the Winter Wildlands Alliance, an organization dedicated to promoting and preserving winter wildlands. With this we hope to protect the outdoor places we play for countless seasons to come.

Season’s Greetings!

Alright, so how did this sucker actually taste?  I admit, I signed up to get this because it was free.  I never would have bought it on my own in the store, but I was pleasantly surprised.  Usually peppermint items (items that aren’t in the shape of a candy cane) are overly peppermint flavored.  This wasn’t.  It was lightly peppermint flavored with an underlying flavor and texture that reminded me of the base of their macadamia nut bar (minus the macadamia nut sweetness).  It also wasn’t very sweet.  When I finished eating it, I had a light peppermint aftertaste in my mouth.  I wouldn’t personally buy this again, but it was pleasant.

Plus it’s fun to try new flavors.  I pulled up their website and see they also have two other seasonal flavors:  Spiced Pumpkin Pie and Iced Gingerbread.  Yum!  I bet both of those are good too.

**********************************

Yay!!  Now onto the fun stuff!  Time to announce the winners of the Chapstick 365 giveaway!!  Thanks to everyone that commented on the post!!  I’m definitely going to be checking out everyone’s blogs that commented!!  Some of the comments seriously made me laugh out loud!

There were a total of 14 comments, and I used www.random.org to randomly draw the winners.

Here’s the winners!

Blakeley

Chapstick?! I am beyond addicted and I’m not ashamed to admit it! I love Burts Bees. I love Softlips. But most importantly – I LOVE SPF in chapstick!!! Burnt lips are the WORST!!!!! My fav flavor – anything melony or minty . In fact – I need to reapply right now! Ta ta!

Cherry chapstick is my all-time fav!!

I love cherry chapstick!!!

Cherry chapstick is my fav! I have some in my purse right now :)

Hope you guys like the Chapstick 365 flavor!  Email me your mailing address at starpulp@gmail.com so I can get you your own Chapstick to try!

There were a lot of comments for Cherry!  Funny because I HATE the Cherry flavor!  It makes me think of cold syrup!!

Have you tried the CLIF Bar Peppermint flavor?  What did you thinks??  What’s your favorite (and LEAST favorite) CLIF Bar flavor?? 

I would love to hear your thoughts! Leave a comment!

