I heart my peanut butter…

Ever since I was a little kid, I have love loved peanut butter.

I would sneak spoonfuls, I loved the stuff so much.

Weird fact – my parents used to store the peanut butter in the fridge. No idea why.  They did this with pancake syrup too.

It wasn’t until the past year that I finally branched out from they typical “skippy” type peanut butter and started trying the healthier types of peanut butter.  You know, the ones that DON’T have a bunch of ingredients I can’t pronounce and my least favorite of all “hydrogenated oil”. Yuck!

Typically if the ingredients say more than “peanuts, salt” I’m a little skeptical.

One thing I do remember from being a kid was the excitement of a new jar.

A new jar meant a fresh smooth top.

When we opened a fresh jar, we always drew a heart in the top.  It was a must. And you’re supposed to think of someone you love and it’s supposed to trigger them, magically through the airwaves, to think of you.

I have no idea if this is true.  It makes absolutely no sense.

But to this day, I cannot open a new jar of peanut butter without first drawing a heart and thinking of someone that I love.

And honestly, that person is usually sitting across the counter from me…looking at me like I’m bat-ass crazy and wondering why it takes so long just to make a darn piece of toast.

Do you draw a heart in your peanut butter?  I tried to google this to get more info, but found nothing.  

4 thoughts on “I heart my peanut butter…

  1. Ha ha…no! Never heard of this tradition, but I must say that I too love the creamy top layer of a new jar of PB. The sad thing w/ the more natural (less ingredients) is that the oil separates, so it’s just not the same as opening a jar of the awesome tasting fake PB. 😉

    1. I agree!! I only eat the natural pb these days. Sometimes when I try a new brand, its soo super liquidy I can’t even do the heart. Plus, if I drain out the liquid, when I get about halfway thru the pb, it’ll be all dried out! lol

I would love to hear your thoughts! Leave a comment!

