Half Marathon Training: Week 8

(Better late than never!!!)

Well, last week was a tough one. I unexpectedly got sick Sunday night. It was either food poisoning or a 24 hour flu (either way, you get that it was not so much fun.). I think it seriously affected my energy this week.

I’m really not TOO upset about not completing my workout as hoped. When you setup a running/training plan, you’re supposed to setup a “light week” every 4th week or so. I honestly don’t build that into my plans, because typically life (work, social, getting sick.. etc) gets in the way and forces a “light week” at some point anyways. That’s pretty much what happened this past week.

As long as I can pick things back up this week, then it should be fine. But just in case…if anyone finds my motivation somewhere, please let me know. I seem to be looking for it..

Half Marathon Training Week 8

  • Week 5 – 10.5 miles
  • Week 6 – 15.1 miles
  • Week 7 – 14.1 miles
  • Week 8 – 9.3 miles
  • Week 9 – this week!
  • 7 more weeks to go!!

Week 8: August 8–14, 2011

Monday:

Unexpected Rest Day
This was supposed to be Body Pump, but due to getting sick the night before, I was out of commission.

Tuesday:

PM: 2 mile run
This was supposed to be a 4 mile run, but either my legs were still spent from the weekend OR from the ‘Sunday Flu’. I tried to run, but they were burning! I decided to just take it easy and finished up after 2 miles.

Wednesday:

PM: Weight Training

I basically did something very similar to last week’s Weight Training.  Because my back had been hurting me, I added some back exercises.  I realized I really didn’t have anything for back/lower back in my previous workouts.

I did three sets of 12 for each group before moving onto the next exercise.

Bicep Curls
Squats
Tricep Pulldowns
Walking Lunges
Pull Ups
Leg press
Tricep dips on a bench
One Leg Squat on a bench
Weighted Bar Shoulder Press
Dead lifts
Kettlebell Single Arm Swing
Back extensions

Thursday:

PM: 4 miles (2 treadmill, 2 outside)

Friday:

Rest Day

Saturday:

Rest Day

Sunday:

AM: 3.3 Miles
Yup, thats right.  I never got my long run in.  This week was wonky.  and believe me, this 3.3 mile run on Sunday was tough!!!

Totals:

Week 8 – 9.3 miles run


Week 9 Goals:

Monday:

PM: Body Pump

Tuesday:

AM: Insanity
PM: Run 5 miles

Wednesday:

AM: Insanity
PM: Weight Training

Thursday:

AM: Insanity
PM: Run 5 miles

Friday:

AM: Insanity
Rest Day!!!!!!!!

Saturday:

AM: Run 7 miles (again. woah.)

Sunday:

Either Rest Day, Racquetball, or Insanity

Totals:

Week 9 – 9.17 Miles

Well, let’s hope my energy comes back this week!  

How do you stay motivated and on track? 

2 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training: Week 8

I would love to hear your thoughts! Leave a comment!

