Half Marathon Training: Week 5

One of the trends I see bloggers doing is posting a weekly exercise recap on Mondays, so I thought I would join in on the fun. It seems like a good way to weekly evaluate myself & keep on track. If I have a bad week, I can see my mistakes on a weekly basis and get back on track right away.

So onto my workouts…I’ve been completing a combination of half-marathon training along with other non-running activities such as the Les Mills Body Pump Classes, Insanity, Racquetball, Ultimate Frisbee, cycling, swimming, etc.

Monday:
Planned: Body Pump
Actually: Ultimate Frisbee

I love to play Ultimate Frisbee! It’s the closest thing I’ve found to soccer which I love. I played soccer since I was four, but eventually had to retire a few years ago when I tore my meniscus in my left knee. I already tore two ligaments in my left knee in high school, so this was just the icing on the cake.

Anyways, I honestly don’t think I’ll be able to play ultimate until at least January. The field options in Jacksonville are pretty limited (especially when you’re not actually PAY-ing for the field space) and I got the WORST shin splints after Monday. I realized this hadn’t happened since the LAST time I played. I don’t want anything to mess with my half marathon training, so sadly, ultimate will have to wait.

Tuesday:
Planned: Run 3.1
This was TOUGH with shin splints but I managed to squeeze it in.

Wednesday:
Planned: Body Pump
Actual: Weight Training

Thursday:
Planned: Run 3.1
Actual: Yeah, we so totally goofed off and went to dinner. Waay to sore from Weight Training to run.

Friday:
Planned: Rest Day
Actual:
– Ran 2 miles in the AM – shins still really sore
– Racquetball at the Yates YMCA in the PM – shins were REALLY sore even before Racquetball, so I could only get one game (3 sets in).

Saturday:
Planned: Run 5.5 miles on the beach
Actual: Run 5 miles on the beach
– Just amazed I actually completed the beach run. Who cares if it was 0.5 miles short.

Sunday:
Planned: Insanity
Actual: Shins still slightly sore.  Didn’t want to push that just yet, so I went to the Brooks YMCA.  Did an alternating cardio/ab workout.  Started with the moonwalk machine for 10 minutes (no idea what this thing is actually called but seriously do need my old ’80s moonboots for it.. ).  Then worked in Meghann’s 10-minute Abs that I found on her website from waaay back when. Then switched back and forth between the bike & the abs.

Yep so that’s the weekly recap.

This weeks plan is:

Monday: Body Pump

Tuesday: 4 mile run (dreadmill – it’s too hot in Florida right now)

Wednesday: Weight Training

Thursday: 4 mile run

Friday: nada mucho. Rest Day

Saturday: 6 mile run

Sunday: Insanity (in the afternoon)  I’m sure I’ll need it after this weekend!!

What’s your weekly routine?

I would love to hear your thoughts! Leave a comment!

