Jacksonville Bank Half Marathon 2009

Jacksonville Bank Half Marathon 2009
December 20, 2009

Chip Time: 2:38:45

This was my first ever half marathon! I was soo proud of myself for training for this race entirely on my own. I didn’t know anyone to run training runs with.  Plus, this fell right after graduation and two weeks of my parents being in town. I believe I would have run faster, but I didn’t get any training runs in during the two weeks that my family visited.  My longest run before this race was only 9 miles. This was my fault, of course.  I should have been more diligent schedule-wise. As a result, I was a bit nervous running this race.

The morning of was crazy.  I got up early and drove to 1st Place Sports Baymeadows store.  It was pitch black and so early. They had buses picking people up at the store and shuttling them to the starting line.  I figured this would be a simple way to ensure I arrived on time. Oh boy was I wrong!  For some reason, the buses never came.  Next thing I saw was Doug from 1st Place Sports with a megaphone telling people to get back in their cars and drive to the starting line. What a mess!! I managed to find a spot on the road, parked, ran about a mile to the starting line.  The race started about 30 seconds after I arrived. Yikes!!

I actually did really well up until mile 10.  I think at one point I started running too fast, and suddenly got a stitch in my side. I ended up walking most of mile 10 and 11.  When I crossed the finish line, I was smiling but in a lot of pain too. I think if I hadn’t gotten a stitch in my side, I would have finished a lot faster. I was extremely frustrated to have such a slow time (for me) for the half. I really expected to run the race a lot faster and finish around 2 hours and 15 minutes. I WAS thrilled that I finally completed my first half marathon!

I looked it up later and this lady totally beat me.

At the end of this race, you run across a brief grassy area to get onto the track which you finish on. It’s kinda exciting.  If you’re paying attention, you can hear them call your name out too!

I have to give a huge shout out to my friend Jim M. who was one of the race photographers.  He sent me all these pictures.  Without his pictures, I wouldn’t have had any race photos of me!!

 

I would love to hear your thoughts! Leave a comment!

